Chanderpaul cops Sportsman of the Year Award

Veteran West Indies batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul and squash player Nicolette Fernandes won the senior Sportsman and Woman-of-the-Year 2012 after a panel of judges assembled by the National Sports Commission (NSC) on Friday elected the top performers of the past year.

The left-handed Chanderpaul, currently the number three ranked Test batsman, was the Caribbean’s highest runscorer in the format last year, notching up 987 runs from nine games at an average of 98.7 with three centuries. In the process Chanderpaul became the second West Indian and first Guyanese to pass 10,000 Test runs, and was also ranked the number one Test batsman by the International Cricket Council.

Chanderpaul gained six votes from a panel of 11, while powerlifter Winston Frank Stoby copped nine votes in the second round of voting to lift the runner-up Sportsman-of-the-Year accolade.

Awards List
Sportsman of the Year: 
Shivnarine Chanderpaul
Sportswoman of the Year: Nicolette Fernandes
Junior Sportswoman of the Year: Chelsea Edghill
Junior Sportsman of the Year: Paul DeNobrega
Most Improved Association: The Guyana Squash Association.
Special Award for Person with Disability: Gibran Hussein Sarfaraz (Table Tennis).
Female Sports Official: Stephanie Gomes–Fraser (Swimming).
Male Sports Official: Peter Abdool, President of the Guyana Boxing Board of Control.
Sports Coach: Carl Ince (Squash).
Sports Team: Guyana Junior Squash Team.
Sports Journalist Photographer: Orlando Charles (Stabroek News).
Sports Journalist Non Print: Avenash Ramzan (Channel 28)
Sports Journalist Print: Calvin Roberts (Chronicle).
Sports Association: The Guyana Amateur Powerlifting Federation.
The Panel comprised: Conrad Plummer, Cecil Kennard, Frank DeAbreau, Steve Ninvalle, Neil Kumar, Sonia Roberts, Sharda Veeren Chand, Carlton Joao, representative of Chronicle, representative of NCN and representative of Guyana Times.

Source: Guyana Times