Chanderpaul takes top honours at glittering ICC Awards night

Wednesday, September 10, 2008 11:47:39 PM

Steyn, Dhoni, ten Doeschate, Edwards and Taufel among the other recipients

West Indies batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul was tonight named Cricketer of the Year at the prestigious LG ICC Awards, held at a glittering ceremony in Dubai.

Chanderpaul was also named in the ICC World Test Team of the Year, as chosen by a panel of some of the greats of the game.

The 34-year-old Guyanese left-hander has had an outstanding year with the bat becoming one of the world’s most consistent and determined players.

Chanderpaul was joined on the winners’ list by India’s one-day captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who took the ODI Player of the Year award, and South Africa’s Dale Steyn, who was named Test Player of the Year.

Tonight, England’s Charlotte Edwards followed in the footsteps of India’s Jhulan Goswami and former Australia captain Karen Rolton to become the third-ever Women’s Player of the Year. She beat Australia’s Lisa Sthalekar, Nicola Browne of New Zealand and Claire Taylor of England to that honour.

There was also an award for the Associate Player of the Year, recognising the contribution that the non-Full Member teams are making to the world of cricket. Netherlands all-rounder Ryan ten Doeschate became the second winner of this award, having enjoyed a fine year with bat and ball in both ODIs and the ICC Intercontinental Cup.

In total there were eight individual awards handed out, as well as a Spirit of Cricket Award and the two ICC Teams of the Year – for Tests and ODIs – were also announced.

A model of consistency Simon Taufel from the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires won the Umpire of the Year award for the fifth year running, while Sri Lanka took the Spirit of Cricket Award as it did in 2007.

There was a new award this year marking the Twenty20 International Performance of the Year and India’s Yuvraj Singh became the inaugural winner of that following his remarkable six sixes in one over during the ICC World Twenty20 2007 in South Africa.

ICC President David Morgan said: “The past year has been another exciting one for cricket fans around the world in a time that included the inaugural ICC World Twenty20 and plenty of competitive Test and ODI cricket. These players have contributed hugely to our enjoyment. This is the fifth annual ICC Awards night and each year it is gaining in prestige.”

KW Kim, chief executive of LG Electronics Middle East and Africa Regional Company, said: “We would like to thank the ICC for bringing cricket’s equivalent of the Oscars to Dubai. The LG ICC Awards salute the exemplary greats in international cricket and celebrate the game’s finest moments of the past year.

“By contributing towards uplifting the game and setting the benchmark in overall performance, these athletes have inspired the next generations of cricket lovers and richly deserve to win these awards,” he added.

The full list of winners is:

Cricketer of the Year Award – Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI)

Test Player of the Year Award – Dale Steyn (SA)

ODI Player of the Year – Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind)

Women’s Cricketer of the Year – Charlotte Edwards (Eng)

Emerging Player of the Year – Ajantha Mendis (SL)

Associate ODI Player of the Year – Ryan ten Doeschate (NL)

Twenty20 International Performance of the Year – Yuvraj Singh (Ind)

Spirit of Cricket Award – Sri Lanka

Umpire of the Year Award – Simon Taufel

World Test Team of the Year 2008 is as follows (in batting order):

Graeme Smith (SA, captain)
Virender Sehwag (Ind)
Mahela Jayawardena (SL)
Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI)
Kevin Pietersen (Eng)
Jacques Kallis (SA)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL, wicketkeeper)
Brett Lee (Aus)
Ryan Sidebottom (Eng)
Dale Steyn (SA)
Muttiah Muralidaran (SL)
12th man: Stuart Clark (Aus)

The ICC World ODI Team of the Year is (in batting order):

Herschelle Gibbs (SA)
Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)
Ricky Ponting (Aus, captain)
Yunus Khan (Pak)
Andrew Symonds (Aus)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind, wicketkeeper)
Farveez Maharoof (SL)
Daniel Vettori (NZ)
Brett Lee (Aus)
Mitchell Johnson (Aus)
Nathan Bracken (Aus)
12th man: Salman Butt (Pak)


Source: ICC Media Release


1 thought on “Chanderpaul takes top honours at glittering ICC Awards night”

Leave a Comment